Skip to content

Zenned Out!

September 13, 2010

Just got back from a three and a half day meditation course, and it wasn’t what I expected. Well, a lot of it was. In fact, all of it was; it just wasn’t what I wanted!

The meditation was OK, but I still didn’t really get all zoned out, like you’re supposed to. The long bouts of sleep were lovely. The videos were fairly dull. I couldn’t help myself, every time a video went on and I heard Guru-ji’s voice, I fell asleep!

The vegetarian food was great, even though there were no garlic or onions! Oh, and my poo turned green, and so did Marc’s! The yoga exercse every morning was great. Even the 6am start was OK, since we rested so much during the day.

I just couldn’t get into the chanting.

Why do Indians (the course was run by Indians for Indians) have to worship people? Even in their flats they have beautifully decorated photos of people. And I’ve never been in an Indian’s flat who didn’t have some sort of shrine.

Well at Art of Living in Kuwait, they have a photo of their Guru, with the frame adourned in flower garlands; and that’s what they look at when they chant! It’s like a shrine to a living man. I’d be interested to hear what Guru-ji says about the photo worship!


Image: His Holiness Sri Sri Ravi Shankar. The photo has a border of flowers.

I love watching them chant, but felt awkward when they tried to insist I joined in. I didn’t want to join in, because it felt like idolatry.

So, we chickened out from the Satsang in the evening. There was a big party for friends and family to celebrate the course; but neither of us wanted to go back. So we went for Sushi instead! Perhaps it was the most relaxed Sushi ever! Don’t tell!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Not so personal ramblings of a "geopolitically naive" Gypsy

Charlotte's Blog

Not so personal ramblings of a "geopolitically naive" Gypsy

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

