Skip to content

Not the first day back at school!

September 14, 2010
tags: ,
As I mentioned, between years out, I teach primary school. Well, this is one of those years when I’m NOT going to teach! The decision was made because we have annual contracts here in Kuwait, and at contracts time last year I was recovering from the nephrectic laparoscopy (kidney removal), and pissed off by school politics.So, here I am, sitting on my bed at 3.30pm, having taken a shower to wash off the day’s salt…. Here’s how I spent the first day of school this year:


Image: Kate snorkeling in the sea.

And here’s how I started the year last year:


Image: A class of 6 year old children wearing traditional Arabic costume to celebrate gurgyan.

Without a question they are undeniably cute. Admittedly, this wasn’t on the first day – it was about Day 4, by which time they would have stopped wailing, had they been wailers – but this class weren’t! They just came and enjoyed school!

But anyway, as I was enjoying the snorkeling on the islands today, it crossed my mind that I was missing the first day of school. And you know what? I didn’t miss it in the least! What I missed most was the hilarity when I get home on the first day of school, and my dog spends 10 minutes sniffing my legs, which I’m assuming is because the new babies I teach all hang around at that height!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

