Skip to content

Thank You Dad, I love You Loads

February 21, 2011
tags: ,

The first days I can remember were caravan trips to Bognor Regis. I have visions of steep windy roads, with pubs seemingly perching on the edge of a cliff, and overlooking bright sunny bays. I remember running to a caravan, into the open arms of my Dad.

me at 8 on dads shoulders

An evening walk to the restaurant in Spain

Northumberland was always cause for excitement! I remember waking up one morning, and the caravan was almost buried in snow!! I had never seen such deep snow, but the van was warm, and the snow was fun. Some of us were clearly too young to worry about driving, but you did it anyway! Thank you!

And I still treasure memories of Seahouses. And more beaches, where we were allowed to play till our hearts content. The hours that Alex and I spent peering into rock pools and listening to the sea in seashells. The cry of the seagulls, walks along seawalls, trips to romantic islands on real boats!!

I used to love our trips to Spain. I loved the expanse of beach and sea where we could play all day, and coconuts and chicken and chocolate milk. And the views were spectacular from your shoulder, where I was on top of the world! That’s where we first learnt the Birdie Song! It was always as though we were exploring in a foreign land, which palm trees and birdsong. And it was warm.

And Billing Aquadrome! My first boat, a Mirror Dinghy. She was a beautiful boat, who I named Swallow – and she was my first memory of sailing! I knew that was what I wanted to do. Her mast may have been too tall to fit under the trees, but Alex and I had a wonderful time paddling up streams in our rubber dinghies.

Thank you, dad, for instilling in me this love for travel and the sea. You formed my dream of sailing around the world, and when we do it, we do it thanks to you. I love my life, and I love who you made me. Thank you for that.

In memorium.  14/09/49 – 30/01/11

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    February 21, 2011 2:30 pm

    Lovely post Kate. Happy memories to be treasured… but you have my eyes tearing up at work now! I’m happy your Dad has left you such a special legacy.
    Alice

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

