Skip to content

Why I Love Being a Digital Scholar

September 23, 2011

One of the things I love about being a Digital Scholar is that I learnt new terms the whole time.  Like Digital Scholar.  That sounds good, doesn’t it?  I think I might even add that onto my CV.  There are many more things I love about being a Digital Scholar too (see, it sounds so good, I can’t stop saying it.  Digital Scholar):

  1. Another thing I love about being a Digital Scholar[Screen shot of extract from allies in elearning blog] is networking with other students.  Since I seem to be ahead of my course, I have starting searching through other MAODE blogs I follow, seeing who has already done H808, and reading through their blog posts. It’s interesting!  See, I just did a module with Alice (can’t remember whether it was H807 or H800, but never mind), who did H808 back in 2009.  Now, she says she set up her eportfolio just for H808, and doubted she would ever use it again… I just left a comment asking her!
  2. I love being a Digital Scholar because it means I can stay in touch with other students I studied easily, since they are all Digital Scholars too, and therefore comfortable using Web2.0, so it doesn’t matter that I am in a diffierent quarter of the globe from them!
  3. I love being a Digital Scholar [screenshot from Twitter feed giving link to academic articlebecause it means I can easily keep up with new developments in elearning technology, thanks to Twitter links from other Digital Scholars.
  4. I love being a Digital Scholar because I keep coming across new toystools that are absolutely fabulous… whether useful or simply entertaining. I have seen these wordles in use before, but never thought to actually run one on my own blog!
    [Wordle for this blog]

    Who would have thought that 'learnt' would be the most commonly used word on a blog about elearning? I have to admit, I was surprised!

  5. I love being a Digital Scholar because it has made me curious enough to start to investigate stuff that wouldn’t have concerned me before.  Like, where did point number 5 go?
  6. I love being a Digital Scholar because my husband thought it was good enough reason to buy me an iPad2!!
  7. I love being a Digital Scholar because normal people seem to think I must be quite clever to know about the scary world of computer education.
  8. I love being a Digital Scolar becasue I can study when I am in the mood, and that can be at 2am, or at 2pm; and in my nighty on my bed either way.
  9. I love being a Digital Scholar because it means I get to hear about great free (open) resources like Martin Weller’s new book. The Digital Scholar: How Technology is Transforming Scholarly Practise has just been released, and is probably going to be the course text for a new OU module.  And I can read it now!!
  10. I love being a Digital Scholar because it means I can nag people for printing out texts, and point out that with the ability to change contrast on any screen to sepia and enlarge text there is no need to claim eye strain as an excuse.  Then I can threaten to cut the guilty up into tiny pieces to feed to the forest as fertiliser.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

