Skip to content

The Secret Diary

September 26, 2011
tags: ,

[diary with lock]

Mine, and mine only!

It sounds daft, but I have a category for Secret Diary.  It is so private, that even I can’t see it! So I am making a public post in my secret diary to see if I can make the category visible!!  It’s where I now put my blog posts that might offend someone.  It took a bit of a disaster to learn that lesson, after writing about something someone who had greatly upset me and making a mistake with my privacy settings… but learn it I did.

Blogs are funny things.  Mine has motivated me to keep a journal for about a year and a half now, and I even find myself writing about things that happened years ago, before I had a blog.  Why?  I guess the blog is more visual than a diary.  I find myself uploading photos as I write about events… searching for amusing clipart online to illustrate a learbing point I want to make.  And I am motivated because I have an audience.  Fellow students read my Academic posts, fellow sailors read my Sailing posts, and sometimes friends and family read my Life posts.

But what if I want to post my personal thoughts?  Like how I feel about the person who upset me?  Or my feelings about this horrible fertility treatment that makes me hate everyone and everything at times? Well, this is MY diary, so I will post what I want.  But, thanks to my in-laws, I have learnt a valuable lesson about what people want to hear… and if I think people might not want to hear stuff, then I’ll keep it private.  Here, in my secret diary!

Edit:  Publishing one visible post has, indeed, made it possible for me to see the Secret Diary Category once again!!!  But the rest of the entries in this category WILL remain private!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 11:20 pm

    This afternoon I published this blog post about secrecy and the necessity to keep some things to yourself. This evening, I followed a link from Twitter, and read this:

    As the line between social media and privacy continues to erode, I often think about these words by Gabriel García Márquez, “Everyone has three lives: a public life, a private life, and a secret life.”

    Funny how these things happen! http://www.briansolis.com/2011/09/whoops-i-didnt-mean-for-you-to-see-this/

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

