Skip to content

Say Shisha Souk Three Times as Fast as You Can!

April 16, 2012
tags: ,
Bahiyya in Shisha pipe shop

It’s not that easy to decide!

Yesterday I took my good friend Bahiyya to the Shisha roundabout in Hawalli.  I’ll be honest, my heart sank when she told me she had been looking at the internet, and that there was supposed to be a roundabout in Hawalli where you could get the best pipes.  I knew that.  About 15 years ago I bought my first shisha pipe from there, and it is the best place to go.  But I think I had been encouraging Bahiyya to buy a pipe in Fahaheel from the tourist shops, on account of the traffic being so nightmarish in Hawalli.  Hell, my best friend Nara lives there, and I’m a really crap friend and only visit her maybe once a year, on account of the traffic being so bad there.  But, we went.  And I’m glad we did, cos I love the Shisha Souk in Hawalli, it’s neat.

And one of the things I love best about visiting the Shisha Souk with Americans is that they all freak out about taking them back to the States, on account of the rule that says you can’t carry drug paraphernalia through customs!!  Well, anyway… Bahir was a little bit worried about that, but I think mostly on account of how she was also hoping to smuggle a special cigar back to her friend as well… I wonder if she did in the end?

I just realised I don’t have a photo of the lovely black crystal bowl she eventually bought to take with her… It’s not for her, of course, it’s for her daughter!  Although we did go back to my house to practise firing one up, and even though mine hadn’t been used in about 10 years, it was fine (with a little bit of duct tape where the pipe bit had split)!; but I have no idea where my apple shisha went… so we had to open up her daughter’s grape and mint.  Yummy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

