Skip to content

Lambs to the Slaughter

October 20, 2012

So, a few weeks ago a desert camp pitched up near one of the places I walk my dogs.  This is at the end of a stream formed by run off water from the refineries, and is lined with reeds, long grass and trees, and a little ‘estuary’ at the end where they can swim.  In Spring it bursts into flower, and it has to be my dogs’ favourite romping place in the whole of Kuwait. Perhaps mine too!

Anyway, the new camp.  For a few weeks now I have been driving past on the way home, wondering why they would camp there, of all places, right next to a slaughterhouse.  And then I realised.  They actually slaughter these animals.  And it’s Eid next week.  My heart broke when I remembered that.  So the sun really is setting over these poor lambs.

Sunset over desert camp of sheep

An awesome sunset for the lambs!

Anyway, when I parked up and got out of the car to take these photos, the car with the three dogs inside became a source of fascination for the guys and kids who were hanging around.  They approached the car quietly, fair enough, but the dogs didn’t like being surrounded by bedouins at all.  Not one bit.  And despite the cacophony they made, the guys were telling me what nice dogs they were when I returned to the car.  But the looks on their photos when I got in with these baying hounds… you’d have thought I was entering the lions cage.  And I don’t mean like those sedated ones you see in Thailand!  Oh if only I’d thought to use my camera to take a shot of the looks on their faces!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Not so personal ramblings of a "geopolitically naive" Gypsy

Charlotte's Blog

Not so personal ramblings of a "geopolitically naive" Gypsy

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

