Skip to content

MH370 – Military PLANE Theory.

March 27, 2015

On 21st March, just last week, I received an email from Mike Exner (prominent member of the IG, heavily involved with the Inmarsat data number crunching, works closely with someone “high up” at ATSB, and widely acknowledged to be the reason the search is in the SIO) informing me that MH370 would have passed within a mile of me if their current thinking is correct.  However I didn’t believe him, despite the convincing graphic he sent, because the altitude was still high (about 30,000 feet too high), and the time was wrong (about 30 minutes too early).

Mike's graphic showing the IG's current thinking about how and where MH370 passed our position.

Mike’s graphic showing the IG’s current thinking about how and where MH370 passed our position.

But then on Saturday 21st March we spoke on the phone for about an hour.  Mike managed to disperse all the doubts I’d had about the genuineness of the data.  They were reconsidering the BFOs, which are based on an assumption, on the basis that a fire event might have caused the frequency of the communication to have changed.  I think I have the gist of it, but these things are all beyond me.  Regardless, I trust the data now, which I have doubted for a year.

Anyway, the following day we had a conference call with Don Thompson, also of the IG; but he’s the guy that is more familiar with military craft. He pointed me the way of the Boeing P8i
Neptune (a close relative of the B737), which India has had a recent delivery of, and there would have been time for some of them to have been deployed to the Andamans to help monitor the Malacca Straits.  He explained that they are a low flying, slow reconnaisance craft.  And if that were the case then it would make sense that the flight profile I had witnessed (remember back to Stewart’s observation graphic) could indeed have been them checking us out:  http://www.chinesedefence.com/forums/indian-defence/4627-3rd-p-8i-neptune-indian-navy-conducts-maiden-flight.html

A military craft intended for reconnoitering.

P8 Neptune. A military craft intended for reconnoitering. A variation of the B737.

The only thing that bothers me about this scenario is that the whole thing was glowing orange, not just the underbelly.  Liz Fortuin has kindly updated her graphic to represent what I saw [although I have requested she removes the logo which I didn’t see, I will update here when I receive the corrected version]:

Graphic illustration of the plane I saw [pending correction to remove logo]

Graphic illustration of the plane I saw [pending correction to remove logo] based on a B777 body.

Now see the similarity?  I can EASILY believe that what I saw was a P8i.  I’m confused as to the black smoke and orange glow, but it certainly wasn’t anything like images of vortexes etc I have been sent.  Who knows, maybe this new aircraft had a problem with its “novel nav strobe configuration: two red flashing nav lights mounted laterally under the wing box (normally a single centerline light)” (Don Thompson). Maybe it was on fire. Maybe, maybe, maybe.

Anyway, here is the most interesting part.  Both Mike and Don seemed overly interested in whether I had seen any flights pass overhead from North to South before I saw this plane.  I said no.  I said I recalled flights passing East to West and West to East, but nothing on that leg.  But a few days after the conversation I DID recall another thought I’d had.  I remember thinking “Where the bloody hell is that going, to the South Pole?” at some stage.

[28May15, edited to add for clarity.  Originally omitted due to oversight]:I DO recall seeing a normal plane, with normal nav lights pass above us from North to South prior to the glowing orange one.  Wasn’t unusual, and I guess I’d put it out of my head. High altitude. Passed pretty much directly above us. 

Yeah, sounds unlikely, and the Daily Mail and its readers won’t believe me, of that I’m sure.  Neither will Sy Gunson.  I’m gutted.  “What, now she says she saw two planes?  Yeah right!” I can hear them cry out.

But I know for a fact that it is possible for memories to be jolted after a long period of time by some trigger event.  And tonight my thoughts untangled themselves, and I realise now that the plane I was thinking of at that moment when I had that thought was a different plane to the one I have been obsessed by for over a year now.

Because this one, the orange one, I recall thinking was going to reconnoiter with those bright lights, which I assumed were a research vessel or naval vessel… and that this was some top secret military experiment.  This has all been written elsewhere – right at the very beginning on Cruisers Forum.  So – it is with a sigh of relief that I finally accept that what I have been thinking for over a year was MH370, could have been, in fact, almost exactly what I thought it was. A military cargo plane with a bad exhaust.

And that the first, and normal looking, plane – up at a normal altitude with normal nav lights which I paid hardly any attention to (except for wondering where it was going – a guessing game I play with most passing planes I watch) on account of it simply not being interesting – was probably in fact MH370 on its way to the South Pole.  Or thereabouts.

Thank you to all the members of the IG, and other independent investigators, who have helped me get this all straight.  Finally I can drop all the nasty conspiracy theories from my head and get back to living life knowing that if MH370 can be found, at least they’re looking in the right place.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Exner permalink
    March 27, 2015 5:03 pm

    Just to clarify…

    “On 21st March I received an email from Mike Exner (prominent member of the IG, heavily involved with the Inmarsat data number crunching, works closely with someone “high up” at ATSB, and widely acknowledged to be the reason the search is in the SIO) informing me that MH370 would have passed within a mile of me if their current thinking is correct. ”

    should read “…MH370 could have passed within a mile of me…”.

    • March 27, 2015 6:14 pm

      Text quoted from graphic you sent. If you want to send a new graphic I can change it and the text.

  2. March 28, 2015 4:33 am

    My apologies. I misquoted Mike. On the phone he said it probably passed within a mile of us. On the graphic above he said “would have passed directly overhead”.

  3. Kirill permalink
    April 23, 2015 4:55 pm

    Did that normal-looking plane leave a visible contrail behind? We are looking at inflight sat imagery and seeing some tracks, but conditions for contrail formation were borderline. Cheers for your memoirs!

    • April 23, 2015 5:14 pm

      Hi Kirill, the name’s familiar, but I can’t place it. Can you introduce yourself? I don’t remember any details about that plane except that it looked normal. I only recall it because I recall wondering where it was going…

    • May 30, 2015 6:54 am

      To show it pointing the way the glowing orange plane was when I saw it, in order to highlight the similarities between it (the p8i, a B737 variant) and the B777.

  4. August 7, 2016 3:36 am

    Kate: Was the night you witnessed the glowing orange airplane slightly overcast? I ask because I fear MH 370 may have suffered a blast fire next to the co-pilot’s chair on the right side of the flight deck, similar to the oxygen mask fuelled blast fire on the same model B777-200 in 2011? In the earlier blast fire, an oxygen mask fueled fire on Egyptair 667 quickly burned the cockpit, melting the instrument panel almost beyond recognition, let alone operation, and ultimately burned a large hole through the outer skin of the plane. Fortunately, Egyptair 667 was still at the gate and everyone aboard evacuated unharmed.

    I wonder whether an oxygen fuelled blast fire, shooting flames through a hole that had perforated the outer skin of the plane, may have, if the light were refracted through a light cloud cover perhaps, appeared to glow orange from the blast fire emanating from the front right hand side of the plane?

    Also, at a higher elevation, of say 35,000 feet, where oxygen is under less pressure, such a blast fire would likely extinguish itself once the oxygen in the co-pilot’s mask supply was drained. So such a fire would, theoretically, burn itself out after a matter of minutes (perhaps 10 to 12 mins. ? I really do not know). An engineer would have a better idea of how long a fire fuelled by the co-pilot’s oxygen mask supply, which was recharged the day before the plane went missing according to wikkipedia, would be likely to burn.

    How long did you watch the glowing orange plane that night? More specifically, was there a time when the plane appeared to stop glowing as you were watching it?

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

