Skip to content

The Pigeons

June 17, 2017
tags:

It’s time to start writing again. I’ve deleted FB from my phone… had a few issues with privacy. Well… actually the issues were with the app. It stopped working and wanted me to send a report giving permission for them to access my meta data etc. So I uninstalled it. And to reinstall it I need to give permission for them to send emails to my contacts from my calendar but without my permission. So bye bye FB app. And hello again WordPress. 

Anyway I’ve been watching the Pigeons in the garden for the last few weeks on account of how I’ve been sitting in the garden more or less non stop since I got out of hospital. 

I had my collar bone broken during my first ski holiday with Marc. Some arsehole wiped me out from behind and I cartwheeled on my shoulders breaking both of them (splitting my left along the length and shattering the right) and my nose. 

The sunglasses survived surprisingly enough. 

It was a pretty cool sight… I was spitting out blood from the nose so folks thought I was dying. And they tried rolling me into the recovery position which of course just hurt the shoulder even more. So anyway they fixed it… thank God for Bupa. Or at least I thought they fixed it. But actually although they put a plate in it never healed. 

CT scan of upper body showing a clearly broken collar bone with excess growth.

This is me!

Amazing what they can do with the imagery nowadays. This MR scan shows the bone which kept trying to heal but just grew without joining. Pushing on the brachial plexus which was causing compression of the nerves and blood vessels. Which meant it hurt to ride my bike, hang the washing and scrape the paint off the picture rails which is a bum when you’re trying to renovate a Georgian house single handed and don’t have a car!

So last week they shaved the excess bone and re plated it.

 

The proportions seem a little wrong. In real life the wound is massive…!

And now it hurts more than ever. I guess the sore wrist will heal… but not so sure but the constant pins and needles in the arm and hand. It’s like the pain that annoyed me when I was doing what I had to do just hurts the whole time now. And from experience I know it takes years for nerve damage to dissipate.  

So anyway. Been sat in the garden for a week and a half now watching the Pigeons mate in our bush. It’s their favourite place and even the dogs have stopped hassling them. It’s taken two years but it seems the dogs are finally ok with bird sharing their back garden. Well, pigeons and sparrows and Robins and wrens. They still hate the magpies.

But wouldn’t you know when I just went to take a photo they buggered off. Never mind… they’ll be back. 


I

One Comment leave one →
  1. Arthur Blackwell permalink
    June 18, 2017 1:49 pm

    Hi Kate

    Sorry to see that you have been in the wars. For all the time I have invested in Facebook I sometimes wonder what I have got out of it , I guess for me it’s a good way to keep in touch with my family if nothing else, so I’ll plod on posting in Veritas370 and remain blocked by Blaine and Co because of that. See ! nothing has changed on Facebook . lol Get well soon and regards Arthur

    On Sat, Jun 17, 2017 at 11:46 PM, Saucy Sailoress wrote:

    > Kate posted: “It’s time to start writing again. I’ve deleted FB from my > phone… had a few issues with privacy. Well… actually the issues were > with the app. It stopped working and wanted me to send a report giving > permission for them to access my meta data etc. So I ” >

Leave a Reply

Saucy Sailoress

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Charlotte's Blog

Start here for MH370 full report: https://saucysailoress.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/2299/

Bumfuzzle

Live Small, Venture Wide

cornishkylie

Thailand|Teaching|Travel|Photography|Cats|Life|etc.

Sailing Sereno

Adventures in sailing, one couples story

MAP Wave Analysis

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

