MH370 – The Cargo Plane Theory

Below I have copied some of a post made on Cruisers Forum (posts #622 & #634) by member Blackkettle. Ed signed up to post a theory into which he has clearly out a lot of effort and research into already, and I believe he intends to investigate further.  I hope he does, because his theory is a very plausible one.  In fact, it sort of illustrates what I had decided this sighting was in the first place.

In a nutshell, his theory is that what I witnessed was a DHL cargo plane, which was being illuminated somehow.  And that theory fits very snugly with my original thought, at the time, that it could be a cargo pane with a bad exhaust.  Especially since some of these planes are painted bright yellow.  In fact, it was one of the images of a DHL cargo plane which another member (Jess28) photo-shopped to best illustrate what I saw, and it was close, so I am open to believing this theory.  For full theory and illustrations, please see the CF thread.

What I am here to say, though, is that the follow up post by Blackkettle contained an image which contains three planes, with a sodium orange colouring this time.  And I feel it is a much better match to what I saw.  The colouring that is.  So I would like to share his image.  He has changed the colouring for this image a little, it is brighter than it was on the version he posted at CF.  And I suspect this is the closest colouring we’ll get in an image.

Now, he also asks if it was possible that what I saw was any of the others.  I don’t think so.  Until I couldn’t find the windows when looking for the source of the ight, I was 100% convinced that I was looking at a passenger plane.  But at the end of the day, I am not a plane spotter, and if asked in a court of law whether I could be certain if the nose was that of image 1 or 2, I couldn’t be certain.  I remember it looking like 1, but as people keep pointing out, my memory of this may have been corrupted by having seen so many images of B777s since I hit Google with a frenzy back in June.

The other details are easy.  The body was like 1, the wings were in the middle.  I know that because I was looking for landing lights and wheels.  But I don’t recall seeing a logo.  Either on the tail or on the body.

Below is the pertinent part of Blackkettle’s post, but I urge you to take a look and read his whole theory.  If you are interested, I also suggest you review Duncan Steel’s Blog (He’s the leader of the independent MH370 investigation team), which shows some very perceptive and intelligent theories and questions about what happened.  I am overawed by the amount of work this diverse team of people has put into finding MH370.

Here follows an extract from Blackkettle’s post:

Saucy,

Another long post but one I felt impelled to share.

A few things in your (very nicely done BTW) well summarized round up of your experience with the mystery plane in post #628 got me thinking again. So here’s a bit more food for thought.

It hit me that the impression you had that the aircraft appeared “to long and pointy to be a cargo plane…” and “The black trail seemed more obvious, and at this stage I wondered if it’s too much or too little oil in the mix that makes the exhaust black” may not be unrelated phenomena. Another minor AHA moment if you will…

The combination of those two observations tends to describe the now aging (and getting fairly rare to see in active duty) Boeing 727 (introduced in the 1960’s), and the later (1980) but beginning to get less common McDonnel Douglas MD-80 series. Both generally appear in profile as “long and pointy” because they have engines mounted at the rear of the fuselage, rather than wing mounted, have a generally narrower width to length ratio (and thus a “longer looking”) fuselage compared to most of the more recent wider bodied aircraft. The 727’s primarily differ from the MD-80 series in that have 3 engines at the rear (one center mounted at the base of the vertical stabilizer) while the MD-80 family (which includes the similar looking MD-81, MD-82, MD-83, MD-87, and MD-88) only have two engines. The later generation MD-90 (1995) and the MD-95/Boeing 717 families (1999) are also similar in appearance.

All these aircraft, by virtue of their rear mounted engines and more aft set wings, are vastly different in profile than the 777 family of which MH370 belongs to. The MD-80’s have a particularly long looking forward fuselage and more pointed nose that the 727’s:

Alternative Illustration, with much better colour suggestion: Ed Truthan
Alternative Illustration, with much better colour suggestion: Ed Truthan

Are the two lower profiles more like what you saw than the 777-200 (MH370) one?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Edit: don’t get hung up with the amateur images, we have more professional one now which is discussed in later posts:]

EFortuin Mar2015

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Barry John Williams says:

    Hi Catherine
    I read with interests you stories and I now have a google graphic with you google map inserted into mine of MH370 passing astern of your yacht.The plane was heading south west and traveling slow 300 KTS.
    I have studied for 3.5 years with interest and I have no doubt it passed near Langkawi and viewed by a witness at 2 am then flying straight to Mekar. Before that MH370 crossed the coast below town of Pendang much further north than the published flight path from Palu Pindang as reported by military radar.
    You will note in their map it has a 43 nm diameter hole in the radar below Waypoint VAMPI. I’m not going to suggest their actions but they are suggesting a plane may have chased from Butterworth i’m not sure it was even a military craft.
    What I wish to say to you is the pilot turned off the transponder for radar soon after Waypoint IGARI and turned it back on nearing waypoint MEKAR. The Elms software activating the SDU com unit takes a minute to load this happened at 2.21.13 am MTY.
    A radar strike this was a number of seconds after waypoint MEKAR because the transponder was now’ on’.
    Some sixty minutes since it either dropped out or most likely a pilot reset. The speed at MEKAR was 515 Kts. About now connection of auto pilot data was feed into the system this was the first Comsat ping 2.28am received an acknowledge signal with communication only on half of the ACARS system the plane was slowing 490 kts and lower altitude remember the two oxygen masks only last together an hour so air conditioning was very important at this time. The magic moment was 2.21.13 meaning the transponder went off at 1.21’13 am and previously air conditioning may have been deliberately turned off.
    The plane would have been manually controlled with an angled turn through SONAB Waypoint then then straightened flying direct to below INOKO arriving at 2.39’58 am. From here it turned south west and passed south of your stern at 2.46’27 am
    when it passed you it travelled for an hour at 300 KtS to meet its 2.41 am Ping then turn south. Catherine if you wish to have the google flight path I would email it to you for discussion.

    1. Kate says:

      Hi Barry. Yes please I would like to correspond with you. Can you hook up on FB and then I’ll PM you my email address. Search for saucysailoress.

  2. Barry John Williams says:

    After 300 KTS should read 3.41am Ping.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.